PDA

View Full Version : Dash Vent

fixmysc
08-11-2007, 12:17 AM
Hi Folks;
I'm wondering if anyone could tell me what the little vent to the left of the JBL stereo is. This is on a '95 with the JBL premium system. I got so curious as to pull the dash panel off, and found there was a hollow tube leading from that 'vent-like' structure on the dash. No idea where it goes or what it does!
Thanks,
Art

birds4us
08-11-2007, 12:32 AM
It is for the interior ambient temp sensor for your auto AC.

fixmysc
08-11-2007, 02:45 AM
That's makes total sense now! I thought it was part of the stereo as it says "JBL premium system" underneath it. Finally, I can sleep at night!
Thanks,
Art

taterheadted
11-27-2013, 11:40 PM
I'm a newbie -- just landed a beautiful 92 SC with 60K original miles. Does anyone know where i can purchase an interior ambient air temperature sensor? The only thing not working on the car is the AC and the compressor kicks on and cycles once (producing cold air in the car) but then kicks off. The auto-climate control seems to do everything EXCEPT regulate the temperature in the car.

archerman0531
11-27-2013, 11:48 PM
Might just be low on freon. Once the compressor kicks on the pressure goes down.

taterheadted
11-27-2013, 11:53 PM
Thanks for the quick response. Yes, I'm planning on putting gauges on tomorrow! I just remember that these sensors went out in a lot of these cars early on and was wondering if they are still available.

archerman0531
11-28-2013, 12:27 AM
Idk. I've never looked for that sensor. I've never had to. My dad had had his cougar for 10+ years, I've had mine for almost a year. No problems with either of our ac systems.

taterheadted
11-28-2013, 01:34 PM