a terrible noise from the SC

BrentSC

hey guys i have a serious problem with my SC. i have had some very knowledgeable people around my area have a look at it but no one knows what the problem is. when ever i crank a hard right , or do a fast right hand corner , (it dosent have to be rack to rack) where theres load on the front left wheel it goes crack, crack, crack, and so on till i straightin the wheel out, it is a very metalic sound. and sometimes it will squeek slightly even going straight. my guess was a front left wheel berring . i replaced it but the problem is still there. i torqued the hub nut down to 250 lbs and did everything correct putting it back together. it happins in reverse, its just any time i have the wheel turnd to the right. it is a very loud noise i almost think the front end of the car is going to fall off. if no one knows what it is ill post a video tommrow. thanks alot guys

brent

ball joints maybe and or bushing

250 ft lbs ,is that on a front wheel bearing -that does'nt sound right
less im missing something

maybe i torqued it wrong, i looked in the haynes manual for the tbird and it only says rear hub nut torque to 250 lbs. it didnt say anything about the front one so i assumed they were the same?????

the front wheel bearing ,im assuming for the most part it's the same as on most cars ,that are rear wheel drive - i can do with a channel-lock or pliers

i believe the rear is totally different ,and i've heard that 250 ft lbs on that ,have'nt had the pleasure yet

Last edited:
does anybody know if 250lbs on the wheel hub nut is the proper torque specifications for the front left wheel????

If it's as bad as it sounds, you should be able to jerk back and forth on the top of the front tire, and get the joint to make some noise.

You can also jack the wheel off the ground, and shove a board or what ever you have for a lever, under the bottom of the raised wheel. Lift up on the lever.