Need help getting started, just bought 89SC (I'm a noob)

I just bought a Black 89 SC mostly stock 110k original miles, babied and taken care of. I love cars and I want to make this car as perfect as I can. There is one problem, I do not know very much about cars in general. I have done a lot of research to just get started. I believe i'm starting with the basics. I have already purchased:
Magnum Powers 3.5" intake system
B&M Short Shifter
SCP 2 1/2 - 3 - 2 1/2 exhaust system

I am posting for any advice and reccommendations from anyone on what I should do next? I would really appreciate any help anyone can give me, just remember though, I am a noob! and do not know all the technical terms but I am really hoping to learn from the members of this site.

Last edited:
You made two great moves...Buying the SC and finding this site. The next best thing you can do is pay the membership dues of $15. That will open the doors.

Skip the 3.5" CAI and get a 3", Forget the throttle body for now. Do the exhaust and throw a 5% sc pulley on there and some 3:08 gears and call it a day. Than do everything to make it dependable. There is a plethora of knowledge and threads on items that can and will go bad. Dont be to hasty on performance just yet.

Thats my take on it. If you dont do those first, you will end up in the HiPo zone with a fast car that leaves you hanging half the time. Good Luck and Congrats.

Ya I paid the dues but I'm not sure what that did for me. This site so far is very confusing, I paid those dues and that was it, it didn't say what to do next or why I paid the $15 to become a member?!?!?

Also, "throw a 5% sc pulley on there and some 3:08 gears" I mentioned I was a noob with cars, I'm not sure what this means or where to get these parts? I think I understated the degree of a newbie I am lol

Why not 3.5" why 3"?