PDA

View Full Version : cams



stempak
09-26-2007, 11:38 PM
Is there anywhere to get a cam for less than 400dollars?

seawalkersee
09-26-2007, 11:58 PM
What are you looking for? New or used? Factory or aftermarket?

Chris

stempak
09-27-2007, 12:07 AM
You can safely reuse a cam?(guess they be pretty cheap 200+-) I mean I'd like to get something like spinning wheels's stage 1 cam but don't wan't to spend that kinda money really.What about aftermarket(comp cams makes top cams) are they any good? What is max hp I could squeeze outa the stocker. I'd like to get 350+-ft.tq

I think I'd use after market. Factory would be 2ice as much!

350ft.tq is big block territory

David Neibert
09-27-2007, 12:40 AM
I've got a used cam that's in very good condition. It might be a little more agressive than what your looking for, but I'll sell it for $150.

It's know as Stegimeir's big cam. It's got long duration with a fairly low lift. 240/240 @ .050 with something like .491/.491 lift with a 114 lsa. Car won't idle below 900 rpms and you will only have about 7 inches of vacuum, but it likes a lot of boost and will snap to attention quickly and pull hard to 6200 rpms. Tony Serno has the same cam in his SC and usually runs 12.8s-12.5s.

I didn't really care for it and switched to something with less duration/overlap and more lift....some other people like it. It will require tuning to make the car run right with it.

David

stempak
09-27-2007, 12:46 AM
sound's too agressive. But the price is right. What can we squeese outa the stockers do you know? Is there anything bad about using a cam outa another motor?

Jacob_Royer
09-27-2007, 02:06 AM
XR7 Dave has some nice deals on cams..

BLOWN38
09-27-2007, 02:46 PM
I've gotten 350ft lbs o torque out of a stock cam. also ran 13.59 with one. but custom grinds are definatly better.