fuel pump?

catwithboost

What tells the fuel pump to not come on?My pump will come on running the self test jumper but that is it .Is it the AFPR that is bad and tells the pump it has enough pressue?

The fuel pressure regulator is a mechanical device just like on an air compressor, so no that wouldn't do it.

If it comes on through the self test (I have never tried that test before, but I am aware of it), then the inertia switch should be on. Does the pump turn on when you turn the key on (for 2 seconds)?

If it comes on sometimes and sometimes it doesn't, then it could be a bad relay(located next to the inertia switch), a bad inertia switch, the wiring harness (there are 2 connections, one at the tank and one on the body of the car) or the fuel pump itself.

next time I change my fuel pump, Im going to cut a hole under the rear seat so I don't have to mess with dropping the tank to fool with it. And of course a plate to go over the hole.

Jeff

The inertia switch (that’s it’s name, if you get into a wreck it shuts off the fuel pump) is located on the left side of the trunk, looks like a circuit breaker, behind the carpet, it has a button on top and a red and a white wire coming out of the bottom. The fuel pump relay is right next to it it’s green if I remember right.

Jeff

test

Is there a way to test which one it is?Or which one to replace first. Never mind I put a jumper wire between the white and red wire on the shut off shitch and car runs.So I guess it is that one thanks.

Last edited:
Food for thought?? :

OKay, the Inertia Switch is inline of the main fuel pump power leads (IE from the `fuel pump' fuse and battery... )

The fuel pump relay, well turns the main power on/off to the pump, Postive side to the ingition switch `run', negitive to the EEC and Test connector