putting new refridgerent in old system?

stempak

trying to get my A/C system working. Can I just put the new refriderent r134 in it, Without changing anything and no problems?

It will work in the very short term then it will frag your system rendering it useless. order some ES-12a , service it with that. it is compatible & will cool better than 134.

$600.00 you should be able to do three cars.

I've been using R134a in my 90 for three years now. It doesn't cost $600.00 to convert an R12 system. It's about $200 and change. You system has to be drained and/or if your system is empty it has to be sucked dry (evacuated) by a vacuum for about 15-30 minutes, then recharged.

It's not a big deal, but if you have a weak point in your system, you will know.

ya and the car is 17years old, Maybe I'll just get it working if I can then slowly replace everything cause It's nice have /need it for the short summer's 90+ degress gets hot.

Walmart do a conversion kit to r134a, you get the adapters, oil charge, stop leak and the gas.
I took one back to the UK for my 89 SC, Works fine but not as cold as the original, r12 i think. :)

Walmart do a conversion kit to r134a, you get the adapters, oil charge, stop leak and the gas.
I took one back to the UK for my 89 SC, Works fine but not as cold as the original, r12 i think. :)

No it's not nearly as cold as freon but gets pretty cold/cold enough for me. I guess I could get the system working with it, Make sure it is good. And then put freon in it at $100 per pound!

Do yourself a favor and research my old posts regarding A/C. There are complete descriptions on what needs to be done to make it work right with R134a. I am an ASE certified A/C tech and have retrofitted hundreds of Fords to R134a and when done PROPERLY they get as cold and last as long as a R12 system. Feel free to pm me with any questions I can help you with. Garry