Car Cover worth it for the winter?

Dirk SC

First of all I am a student and dont have tons of money to throw around this time of year... and yes I know I picked the wrong vehicle to not want to throw $ at.

That being said we are soon to get snow here and my bird is parked. I have done all of the other necessary winter prep stuff but i was wondering if a cover is really going to do that much good. I will not be brushing the snow off, unless its huge and i can without touching the paint, and it will be in a place where not that much other crap can get on it.

I dont really want to spend $2-300 for nothing. Is the cover really going to make much of a difference with snow?

Given your situation, I'd say it's a double-edged sword. A "weather proof" cover will help keep your car dry, but some moisture will get through/condensate underneath. Unless you're going to remove it frequently to let the car dry out, it's inviting all kinds of moisture-related problems; rust, mildew, wiring gremlins, etc. At least without a cover, the car will dry out naturally as the snow melts (assuming the drain holes are clear, and the car doesn't leak). You're probably not worried about sun fade at your latitude and season. And, if there's nothing that can fall/accumulate on the car (industrial fall-out, tree debris, bird droppings, etc.), then you're probably okay without a cover. Maybe someone with more direct experience on this can offer further advise. There might be some type of "whiz-bang" cover/material that will not let moisture through, but will breathe adequately to prevent the rust, mildew, etc. problems.

Ideally, you'd use a car cover constructed of lumber, plywood, shingles and siding...

JD

dirk,