PDA

View Full Version : no start



DemonSC
11-16-2007, 08:50 PM
my 89sc doesnt want to start, it was running (really rich) about a month ago when i got a good coil pack from someone (i had a screamin' demon and it took a ~~~~). so it started then and i had one or a couple fuel injectors leaking, i replaced those with 36lb. and got a C&L MAFS and got a blue sample tube to go along with it. After i put everything back together it doesnt start. I've checked to see if i have fuel pressure, compression, and spark, i have all three. i dont know what to do now. any help would great

DemonSC
11-18-2007, 12:20 AM
i have come to the conclusion the timing is off, i have a BHJ and i timed it wrong. Im going to retime it tomorrow and see how it does

DemonSC
12-03-2007, 08:33 PM
well i timed it right i guess, and still nothing. I only checked one injector with a noid light. how do you check the other ones? it seems like a ~~~~ to get to them, so could i take the supercharger off and take the connector off of the coil pack and turn the motor over to see if the other ones are pulsing

fturner
12-03-2007, 09:07 PM
Try to get your mitts on a fuel pressure regulator from someone and swap that out... the pressure drop you experienced could have been the regulator leaking into the vacuum lines, and not the fuel injectors leaking.

DemonSC
12-03-2007, 09:17 PM
i got a fuel rail off of someone, i think he said it has 90k miles on it. its also been somewhat modified to get more fuel pressure.

fturner
12-03-2007, 09:48 PM
Have you installed it?????

I wouldn't. I highly doubt your anywhere close to maxing out a stock fuel rail, and if you need more fuel pressure for some reason, then you would get an adjustable pressure regulator.

DemonSC
12-03-2007, 11:14 PM
yeah i installed it, i know im not anywhere close or ever will be but why not a little extra fuel pressure wont hurt will it? its only the FPR thats modified not the fuel rail itself, sorry i didn't specify

Capt.Trunks
12-08-2007, 01:14 PM
so it wont start hhhhmmmm the fuel cut off switch ??? still could have pressure i would think but not start

DemonSC
12-10-2007, 03:55 PM
i've tried that too but it still doesnt want to start, i took the blower off this weekend to check if the injectors are pulsing. i still have yet to get a noid light. this thursday im going to check to see about the injectors and post back what happens

DemonSC
12-11-2007, 10:26 PM
i saw in a post from about 4 years ago that there was an orange wire thats suppose to be connected to the back of one of the heads. when my brother took off the fuel rail to replace the injectors i think the bolt that connects the wire to the head broke off. so could this be a reason why my car isnt starting?

seawalkersee
12-12-2007, 01:48 AM
What do your plugs look like? I would be willing to bet that you have run it too rich and caused them to go by way of the do-do. If they are black and/or wet, you will need a new set. Also, what color is your spark at the plug?

Chris

DemonSC
12-12-2007, 03:42 PM
i've changed spark plugs 3 times now, i dont know what color the spark is but this weekend im gonna hook up a spark tester and see if it has good spark or not

DemonSC
12-15-2007, 12:29 PM
yesterday i finished putting my SC back on. we checked the spark with a spark tester and there is spark, checked to see if the injectors are firing and they are. i double checked the intercooler seals and they seem to be ok. i also switched out to a different coil pack to see if there would be any difference and there wasnt. my spark plugs are probably a little bit fouled up so im going to pull those out today and clean them up and put them back in and try starting it again. any other suggestions would be helpful.

i also checked the orange ground wire bolted to the head and its connected

thanks,
chris

seawalkersee
12-15-2007, 08:01 PM
Hmmmmm...Im thinking there is a MAF problem. Either that, or your #36s are not #36s. What size is your MAF? Are you sure you have the right color tube?

Chris

DemonSC
12-15-2007, 09:24 PM
i have blue injectors and a 73mm C&L MAFS with a blue sample tube. i bought the injectors off of someone on here (deepbluesc) and he said they were 36#, they were made by a guy named jim linder

i did the boost leak test with a compressor and all that jazz and i found a very small vaccum leak where i plugged one of the vaccum lines and thats all i found

fturner
12-15-2007, 09:35 PM
they were made by a guy named jim linder......


Made????

Did you change out your FPR and fuel rail with known working units?

DemonSC
12-15-2007, 09:38 PM
sorry rebuilt. yes i did, the fuel rail i have on now only has 90k miles on it (it worked when it was on the car)

scbird1
12-16-2007, 12:41 AM
You might try your stock MAF and electronics. Its a easy change but first just unplug it and try to start. If that dont work ,Take a deep breath and go back and check all your wires and pull the hose off your FPR if you can and check for fuel in the vac line. Thats about all I can think of.

DemonSC
12-18-2007, 08:26 PM
thursday im going to go get some autolite 103s to throw in there for a little while and try starting the car with the MAF unplugged. i read in a thread from awhile ago that there is a fuse under the hood that sends power to the EEC, could this be one of my problems too?

Young-SC-Owner
12-18-2007, 09:42 PM
thursday im going to go get some autolite 103s to throw in there for a little while and try starting the car with the MAF unplugged. i read in a thread from awhile ago that there is a fuse under the hood that sends power to the EEC, could this be one of my problems too?

not if the injectors are firing, and your getting spark,...no

DemonSC
01-11-2008, 02:09 PM
i worked on my car again yesterday after taking a break/ vacation. i retimed the cam sensor and hooked up a fuel pressure gauge. after retiming it and trying to start the engine nothing happened, still turns over but doesnt show any signs of wanting to start. i also tried starting the car with the MAF unplugged and that didnt work either so im stumped :(

seawalkersee
01-11-2008, 07:55 PM
Alright, give me an update on this. New plugs? Fuel pressure? Spark? Timing? When you turn it over, does it turn with the normal sound or is there a lul in it at places? After you try to start it, pull a plug and see if it has gas on it. If it does, you are probably running into an ignition problem. If you have no fuel on it. Shoot some wd-40 into the throttle body. You will have to crank it a few times, but after it make it through the 7+ feet of intake, it should run for a second if it is a fuel issue. Spray about a 2 sec burst into it and put the tube back on. But since you said you have replaced the plugs three times now, I bet it is an ignition problem, DIS or CID sensor.

Chris

DemonSC
01-12-2008, 01:55 PM
i dont think its the DIS, i put a different one on the car and it didnt do anything different.

whats a CID sensor?

seawalkersee
01-12-2008, 03:04 PM
Cylinder Identification. The one at the crank. It uses the one on the dist shaft to get the firing order (it is more complicated than that but close enough). So, is there fire? Fuel on the plugs?

Chris

deepbluesc
01-14-2008, 06:56 PM
Chris! It's crap that you're having this much trouble with the car!!

Anyway, If you have fuel, spark and compression, the engine will run UNLESS one or more of those are not happening at the right time. I cannot think of ANY other reason why it wouldn't start.

DemonSC
01-14-2008, 09:42 PM
yeah this thing is kickin my butt, its been a year since i drove it.

when i get home thursday im gonna fool around with it a little bit. im thinking the crank sensor is what is making it not fire up.

i have fuel and spark and compression, the timing is right to my knowledge, the only thing left could be crank sensor right?

scbird1
01-14-2008, 11:35 PM
Is the up shift light lit while your cranking it? If so its bad or your balancer has went south. Any members live in your area that can look at it? It always helps to have a second opinion. My car sits too but not from lack of running it needs body work and paint and then to be put back together. :rolleyes:

DemonSC
01-15-2008, 12:00 AM
when i turn the key on the upshift light comes on, but when i start cranking it it goes out. i just bought a BHJ balancer so i don't see how it could be bad.

there are a couple people in the club that live around me. ill try calling someone and see if they can come out.

deepbluesc
01-15-2008, 07:40 AM
I would ask which timing is correct? Keep in mind you have Ignition timing, valve timing and fuel timing. It's been a while, but I believe the CID tells the PCM/Ignition module which injector to fire and the Crank sensor indicates which coilpack should fire. You need to ensure the CID and Crank sensors are installed and aligned correctly. As I recall, the BJH doesn't have timing marks, so it is possible that your timing check is being skewed by that.

DemonSC
01-15-2008, 03:44 PM
alright, ill go up to JEGS sometime and get some timing tape and put it on the balancer and re-time it and see if it starts.

the CID is the thing on the back of the balancer right? if its not could someone take a picture of what it looks like so i can check it out when i go home thursday

deepbluesc
01-15-2008, 06:22 PM
The CKP (crank sensor) is the one behind the balancer. CID is black about as big around as the SC pulley & flat on top with a connector sticking out of it. I goes in what would be the distributor hole in the front top of the motor. I'm not looking at one right now, so I can't say what side it's on, but I recall it's pretty close to center. If you look down around your t-stat, ignition module and coil, you should be able to see the top of it.

DemonSC
01-15-2008, 07:12 PM
alright i think i know what your talking about now, how do you test it to see if it works (if you can)?

birds4us
01-15-2008, 07:32 PM
I wonder if you didn't break the crank sensor putting the balancer on.

DemonSC
01-15-2008, 09:32 PM
i put the balancer on, then switched the old crank sensor out

scbird1
01-16-2008, 02:17 PM
There should be about a match book cover gap between the sensor and the finns or what ever you call that dohicky:rolleyes:

joshbea6
01-16-2008, 03:48 PM
Chris,

Just got your PM. I'm unfortunately going to be out of town all weekend and won't be able to swing by. Try calling Shane (quick35th) and see if he can swing over.

Sorry to hear about all of the problems. If you can't manage to get it running soon, try talking with XR7Dave (David Dalke) to see if he has any suggestions.

Josh

DemonSC
01-23-2008, 04:25 PM
if there is a "lul"(the sound it makes when you have a dead battery) when cranking the engine over what would cause this?

seawalkersee
01-25-2008, 07:13 PM
You have to be more specific than that. Lets get back to the other questions. Do you have spark? GOOOD spark? What color is the flame?

Chris

birds4us
01-25-2008, 07:20 PM
I think someone is going to have to go out there and help him out. A second set of eyes and ears.

seawalkersee
01-25-2008, 08:06 PM
Whell...Im in MO and you are in VA... (tosses coin in the air and calls heads)... and it looks like you just lost the coin toss. Gessssss you will be on your way there:D?

Seriously though, that is probably the best answer.

Chris

birds4us
01-25-2008, 08:20 PM
I'm not in a position to make that road trip this time, but I have before to help someone out.

MagpoweredSC
01-25-2008, 08:56 PM
do you have good gas (you said it has been a sitting a year.) and a good battery in it. Usually when this happens replace cam sensor, crank sensor, dis, plugs, wires, check your grounds also. I didnt see if you checked voltages with an ammeter, but it prob is something really stupid. Does it even try to fire? My car was at the Ford garage and he couldn't get a start and the diagnostics said the fuel inj werent getting acceptable signal. He ordered another DIS and that fixed it, but there is a possibility that the Second DIS you tried is also f'd too, i would try another and make sure you have the fuel inj plugs plugged into the right inj, on both sides of the fuel rail the 2 inj connectors are right next to each other and if you mix these up it, it will not start.

DemonSC
01-25-2008, 09:09 PM
My mom finally got tired of my car sitting in her garage so she called a mechanic to come get the car and work on it. We took it to a restoration/ mechanics shop here in town, the owner said that he has worked on a couple SC t-birds before. thank you all for the help. ill post back when i get my car back and tell you all how it runs

seawalkersee
01-25-2008, 09:23 PM
Well...Sorry. I wish I could have helped you out ('cause saving moola is goood).

Chris

CarolinaGrl
02-02-2008, 04:25 PM
Any updates as to what the problem was??

DemonSC
02-03-2008, 08:19 PM
spark plugs were in the wrong spots again and fuel and spark are not happening at the right times

DemonSC
02-04-2008, 11:09 PM
My car is back from the shop, other things that were wrong with it are: timing was off 3 degrees and the fuel injectors were stuck closed. Now I just need new tires and an alignment :D

MagpoweredSC
02-05-2008, 10:21 AM
The timing was 3 degrees off? How would he go about determining that?

DemonSC
02-05-2008, 11:03 PM
I have no idea haha

DemonSC
02-08-2008, 02:06 PM
I finally got to drive my car yesterday for the first time. I did some "tests" on the way back from cleveland and its much faster than it was before :D.

There are two things that the shop did that I didn't like. They put iridium spark plugs in which were 96 dollars for 6, and also the cam sensor shaft is in the wrong place so they zip tied the wires to the cam sensor so they wouldn't hit the SC belt.