PDA

View Full Version : Evans Coolant Update -- 2-yrs running

MikeKanterakis
12-08-2007, 09:29 PM
Hello, I have been running the Evans Coolant in my daily drivers for the past 2 years and noticed a build-up of black sludge in the overflow tank. It's thicker than the regular evans.

I've cleaned it up and will check it again if a few months.

The car is still cooling at optimum (normal) efficiency.

Mike8675309
12-08-2007, 10:46 PM
I'd call Evans and ask them about it. Was your motor completely clean before adding the evans, or did you do a conversion with a flush to get out the old coolant?

I assume you are running the NPG+?

MikeKanterakis
12-09-2007, 11:16 PM
Yup, super clean. I built it myself :-) I was going to give Evans a call and run it by them. I guess I should have saved some of the sludge though...

Yeah, it's NPG+.

pablon2
03-23-2009, 08:37 PM
Yup, super clean. I built it myself :-) I was going to give Evans a call and run it by them. I guess I should have saved some of the sludge though...

Yeah, it's NPG+.

Did you find anything out from Evans?

MikeKanterakis
03-24-2009, 12:14 AM
unfortunately, no. I let all that sludge wash out and didn't save any.

I'll probably check again soon and see if there's any more sludge in there. If so, I'll send some into Evans and ask their input. Otherwise, this stuff is the bomb! and I totaly recomend it.

XxSlowpokexX
03-24-2009, 12:37 AM
My experience is that the Evans darkens with age and when I asked about it that was normal. Contaminants.

Are you running it low pressure or 0 pressure?

KMT
03-24-2009, 12:55 AM
>noticed a build-up of black sludge in the overflow tank

Still running a pressurized system, I take it...

-=-=-=-

From EvansCooling.com...

"EVANS 'NPG +' WATERLESS ENGINE COOLANT. (http://www.evanscooling.com/html/npgben1.htm)

Secondary Benefits of NPG Coolant For Gasoline Engines: