Need advice on MAF and TB upgrade

Pooch

What is the best combo of MAF abd TB to improve otherwise stock 91 SC auto? Should I upgrade the computer chip as well? I have no experience with ODBI. I know ODBII systems ('96 and up t'birds) can be reflashed but I know nothing about chip upgrades or reflashes on EEC-IV systems.

Thanks in advance

76 MM Maf and 75 MM TB get the correct sample tube to mate to the injector size. You will need a chip to get the tune right on and it improves perfomace as well

Ken

Can you give me some sources? What do I need to know about matching the sample tube to injector size? How about chips - are there custom parameters such as sample tube size injector flow rate and fuel pump pressure? Appreciate any info.

Can you give me some sources? What do I need to know about matching the sample tube to injector size? How about chips - are there custom parameters such as sample tube size injector flow rate and fuel pump pressure? Appreciate any info.

Id get a tune. you wont see maximum hp for your mods with out a tune. The correct sample tube in a bigger MAF will get you in the ball park for driveability. A SCT chip will give you the needed flexability to tune any mods for your car you do in the future. For example you can program the fan to come on at 180 degrees and install a 180 degree thermostat. Helps your car run cooler. Most people just assume they ad a modifacation and they dont need to make an adjustment. Anything you change from a factory part will take you further from the factory settings. You will find changing one thing will require more changes. A bigger MAF and TB just means the blower needs to be ported and the Throttle body pleum attached to the blower will need to be opened up or replaced. It just kind of goes on and on

Ken

good points but some ppl like the leaning out of the mixture from an aftermarket maf which leads to a bit more power in top end.