how hard is it to install new headers

scpride

1990 35th anny and i was just wondering how hardit would be to fit some mid-length headers on it. how much is required to put them on. please help me i am new with the scs

Last edited:
difficulty level

it all depends. i put Kooks mid length on my 95 and it wasn't too bad (2 on a scale of 1 to 5 ). one huge reason it was easier is that my auto trans was out for a rebuild. i didn't have to loosen any accesories, but you MUST take the steering shaft off at the bolt and push it up and out of the way to remove the drivers side manifold. for putting the headers on, a ratcheting box end wrench is gonna be your best freind while underneath the car. it'll definatly be worth it though. take your time and have a couple of beers, enjoy!!!:)

I shouldn't be too hard. You do nearly all of it from below. You will want to separate the rag joint on the steering column and push that out of the way.

The stock manifolds are pretty good. Unless you are planning on adding significant other bolt-ons you probably won't seen any benefit from switching to headers alone.

benefits

once you go the headers ruote, you should definatly add more boost. figure it this way, the biggest reason i can think of for head gaskets failing is the back-pressure associated with the stock exhaust. let it flow and you'll have a cleaner intake charge also, since there will be less risidual exhaust gasses present in the cylender. when i removed my factory exhaust system, i was amazed that it ran so well with a many restrictions that it had!

the largest cause of head gasket failure is detonation. The cause of detonation can be various reasons. It is the explosive force of detonation that creates the huge pressure spike that can damage the head gasket, head, Piston, and rings.