PDA

View Full Version : What do you put in your center console ash tray?



Evan_90SC
01-02-2008, 11:51 PM
What do you put in your center console ash tray? (The front one.) I put all my spare coin in mine...Just emptied it out tonight because it was filled to the top, and I came out with $15.60...Not too bad...:D My previous record was a little over $10. :cool:

SuperCharged91
01-03-2008, 12:06 AM
I put my spare change there its my car wash fund:D

bigpoppa822
01-03-2008, 12:18 AM
I usually have change and a handful of fuses in there.

jonroe
01-03-2008, 10:09 AM
I lay the remote control for my in trunk CD changer on top of the tray. Keeps it handy. The in trunk unit can only be run with the remote.

the-big-e
01-03-2008, 10:12 AM
I usually put spare change in there.....

About a month ago, I emptied the ash tray and found a few "items" left over from my younger years......;)

pablon2
01-03-2008, 11:13 AM
Stainless panel with four switches: nitrous illuminated purge switch, alky system pwr, bottle warmer, secondary nitrous safety pwr switch.

franky_402
01-03-2008, 01:45 PM
spare change and in the plastic casing under the lid i have a small switch mounted for my amplifier!!!

Miller
01-03-2008, 03:06 PM
why put your amp on a switch ?

Kurt K
01-03-2008, 03:37 PM
Here's what I did:

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showpost.php?p=282937&postcount=9

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=6372&d=1082830626

Payton
01-03-2008, 09:00 PM
Kurt, you are the MAN!;)

the-big-e
01-03-2008, 09:13 PM
That is WAY COOL........:D

351cat
01-04-2008, 12:34 PM
I put cig butts in mine, guess i'm a wierdo, lol.

txsc
01-14-2008, 10:58 PM
I put cig butts in mine, guess i'm a wierdo, lol.

No, I'M a wierdo; I don't put anything at all in mine. I have an NOS tray, and it's all nice and shiney and perfect, and I don't want to scuff it all up. How anal is that?!?... : )

JD

PS: Kurt, that switch panel is awesome. Shoot some black wrinkle paint on that, and it'd look factory!

Capt.Trunks
01-15-2008, 03:48 AM
Here's what I did:

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showpost.php?p=282937&postcount=9

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=6372&d=1082830626
now can you put that in the members forum on how to do that please:D give me a plane for the weekend

Jacob_Royer
01-15-2008, 04:41 AM
Mine is nice and shiny too.. Only thing goes in there is the slack of my radar detector's cord!! gotta love the cobra! its saved my asss a few times!

nickleman60
01-15-2008, 08:24 AM
I installed my nitrous remote bottle opener and arming switches in the ashtray slot on my '94 sc.

Kurt K
01-15-2008, 09:33 AM
now can you put that in the members forum on how to do that please:D give me a plane for the weekendI'll put it right here.

1) Spend several pre-work hours modeling the complex curves of the ashtray opening in Pro-E. Cutting out paper templates and testing them nightly.

2) Send model file to the CNC programmer at work to program in his "spare time".

3) Ask the photolab guy if I can use some of the extra space on the sheets of adhesive backed .003 thick photographic aluminum and have him shoot the image.

4) Run a test run (photographic aluminum image stuck to the aluminum) and see how it looks.

5) Stick the photographic aluminum image to another piece of aluminum and then run the "production" piece

6) File to fit because the paper templates still weren't perfect.

7) Drill tiny holes in the lower corners to attach the plate to the console.

And before you ask:

1) That job was 2 jobs ago and I don't have access to the CNC machine, photographic aluminum or Pro-E cad program (although I probably still have the file that I'll never be able to find if I try).

2) I also have no idea where to find the blank switch plate that I cut out prior to the final run.

franky_402
01-15-2008, 09:58 AM
why put your amp on a switch ?



It's my quick kill switch, if were cruising around and we see a cop coming up i flip the lid and the amp shuts down immediatly. Then when its safe flip the switch again. Im the only one of my friends thats never got caught with there system pretty much. Also handy if parents drive the car they can turn the bass off and i dont have to explain complicated ways through the headunit!! It makes life that much easier!

mywhite89
01-15-2008, 12:07 PM
No, I'M a wierdo; I don't put anything at all in mine. I have an NOS tray, and it's all nice and shiney and perfect, and I don't want to scuff it all up. How anal is that?!?... : )

I didn't buy a NOS ashtray but I did use mothers mag an aluminum polish on my gently used ashtray(thanks to previous owner) and it looks almost just as good as new. Nice and shiny.

Nothing in mine either unless unless I take apart my console and throw some screws in their temporarily! My pusher fan switch is hidden underneath the ashtray though, in the same spot where the previous owner hid his plastic bag of goodies. lol

shawpdx1
02-01-2008, 11:46 AM
gotta like it!

tbird420
04-09-2008, 03:22 AM
I have two gauges intake temp before and after intercooler, its attached to the lid so that it angles up when it opens. Very tight fit. Nicer looking then ciggarette butts

whiplash15
08-15-2008, 09:51 AM
I have the readout and remote for my cd changer.

rickbtbird
08-16-2008, 07:13 PM
If anything I'd keep those safty things in there.

JJP90SC
08-18-2008, 12:02 AM
[QUOTE=txsc;702468]No, I'M a wierdo; I don't put anything at all in mine. I have an NOS tray, and it's all nice and shiney and perfect, and I don't want to scuff it all up. How anal is that?!?... : )

JD

I would love to find an NOS ashtray!:D
You don't happen to know where I could find one,
or maybe a part number for it?

Thanks!
Jeff Parker

David Neibert
09-09-2008, 01:58 PM
I put cig butts in mine, guess i'm a wierdo, lol.

Me too.

David

dwayne
09-09-2008, 11:26 PM
Change,lotto tickets and a pistol.

rzibilske77
09-10-2008, 10:45 AM
Change,lotto tickets and a pistol.

all that in a ash tray....i aint skeered of you!:)

dwayne
09-10-2008, 10:45 PM
wow,no in the console,my ash tray is empty.

rickbtbird
09-10-2008, 10:50 PM
Had to quite smoking due to high blood pressure so now I my meds there.

SCme94
09-12-2008, 12:42 PM
12 second timeslips.....

Micahdogg
09-12-2008, 11:59 PM
Wave good-bye to your 12 second timeslips a$$hole!

dwayne
09-13-2008, 12:39 AM
all that in a ash tray....i aint skeered of you!:)

why would you be skeered,its just a 45:D:D

greg91sc
02-25-2009, 10:38 PM
I keep change and my work cell phone.

baer198
07-26-2009, 05:36 PM
Here's what I did:

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showpost.php?p=282937&postcount=9

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=6372&d=1082830626

that is sweet!

Kurt K
07-26-2009, 08:47 PM
that is sweet!
Thanks :cool:

SCrazy
07-27-2009, 02:16 PM
Where did you get those nice little labels?? That looks really nice.

baer198
07-27-2009, 02:25 PM
That looks really good. i would paint the MOUNTING PLATE BLACK WITH THE WHITE LETTERS

Kurt K
07-27-2009, 02:26 PM
Where did you get those nice little labels?? That looks really nice.That's actually photographic aluminum that is .003 thick and stuck to a thicker backing plate. I used to work for a place that designed test equipment and we had to make labled enclosures all the time. I used some of the extra space on a print to make my switch plate artwork and then cut it out on a CNC machine. :cool:

Kurt K
07-27-2009, 02:28 PM
That looks really good. i would paint the MOUNTING PLATE BLACK WITH THE WHITE LETTERS

It is black, but more of an anodized look. The light reflects off of it differently than the console.

Micahdogg
07-27-2009, 03:25 PM
That has got to be the mod that has stood the test of time best. Raised tops are played now, 75mm Bullet MAF's are old, no one cares about a ZR intakes or Cobra R's, but that switch plate is still the catz azz, what....12 years later? :)

Kurt K
07-28-2009, 12:11 AM
That has got to be the mod that has stood the test of time best. Raised tops are played now, 75mm Bullet MAF's are old, no one cares about a ZR intakes or Cobra R's, but that switch plate is still the catz azz, what....12 years later? :)
Yep, I think it was about 12 years ago that I installed that switch panel in my car.

SCrazy
07-28-2009, 11:10 AM
Nice!! They look perfect


That's actually photographic aluminum that is .003 thick and stuck to a thicker backing plate. I used to work for a place that designed test equipment and we had to make labled enclosures all the time. I used some of the extra space on a print to make my switch plate artwork and then cut it out on a CNC machine. :cool:

Larry Whitaker
06-09-2010, 09:25 PM
About 75 cents in quarters in case I ever need to feed a parking meter. I need it about once every 4 years. It's good to have when you need it. Plus other spare change. A jump drive (USB flash drive) with music on it for my non stock stereo. A paper clip to reset the oil change warning light. For those who don't have it, there's a tiny hole it fits in. You have to turn the key on and insert the end of a straightened paper clip for a few seconds. It resets when you do that.
A tiny allen wrench. Sometimes I need to remove the rear view mirror. Maybe to wash the windshield. At least twice it was to re-glue the mounting bracket.

1994blkbirdsc
05-25-2014, 06:41 AM
The ashtray in my 95 is a NOS unit, I put nothing in it.

Jacob_Royer
06-03-2014, 03:34 PM
The cables for my wideband and quarterhorse come out of mine. I pulled the tray itself out i can open it pull my cables out to datalog/tune then put them back in and close it when im done :)

Kurt K
06-03-2014, 04:15 PM
12 second timeslips.....
Have you ever upgraded to 11 second timeslips?