Pulley size/boost ratio?

speedingminivan

Anyone know of approximate boost levels from different sized pulleys?

I'm new to the M90 area and don't know what its specific output is per pully size. What is the stock size pulley for an M90 off a T-bird SC? And what level boost is it running? Thanks.

boost is not always more power, boost is back pressure. However the 89-93 had a slightly smaller diameter pulley than the 94-95. The 94/95 blowers were redesigned to make more efficient boost so they made the pulley larger. Stock sc's will make 10-13 psi. Its really hard to guage what psi of boost you will have under certain condition. If you leave stock pulley on and remove cats then you will lose boost but gain slight power due to better flowing exhaust. Also do not reccomend any smaller pulley until you do something with the exhaust or you can hop on the head gasket bandwagon. Also you should consider better intercooler or at least a fan for it. Off the top of my head i dont know exact sizes but a 89-93 pulley is often considered a 3% overdrive when used on a newer blower. A 5% is usually ok with no work done to your car but you were cautioned about the hg's. And a 10% should not be installed unless exhaust work is done and intercooler is new or at least has one fan on it. Im sure others will chime in and add to the list. I also believe in the faq there is something about this same question ill look and post back!

When is it safe to run od

FAQ Forum, with many helpful threads

Last edited:
Pretty sure a stock pulley is right around 3 inches, because a 10% overdrive pulley is 2.8 I believe. Someone may correct me on that.

What is the diameter of the crank pulley turning the supercharger? I'm matching this to a different car with a 135mm (about 5-5/16") crank pulley.

What is the diameter of the crank pulley turning the supercharger? I'm matching this to a different car with a 135mm (about 5-5/16") crank pulley.