custom FMIC questions

RoccoRock05

What would be the best position of the end tanks on a custom front mount to route the piping? Inlet & outlet on one side, one on each side, top, bottom, etc. I want to keep the stock top for the supercharger. I also want to keep everything the way it is. No A/C delete, or shortened A/C condenser.

Last edited:
I'm no expert on this, but i would think that you would get the most cooling from the inlet and outlet being on opposite sides. whether one is on the bottom or top, I'm not sure if the inlet should be on the top since heat rises and the outlet being on the bottom where the "cooler" area of the I/C would be.

i know this isn't the best example, but a radiator is a heat exchanger also. so, with that in mind, my '57 FC150 jeep has a radiator that has the inlet and the outlet both on the top. there is a divider in the top tank that inhibits the coolant from just going to the outlet side and forces it through the core.

if you want both the inlet and outlet on both sides for a cleaner look(read: factory style routing) i guess you could do a divider in the drivers side tank and make the boosted air do a loop in the I/C. I'm sure it'd be more of a restriction but just an idea. maybe it'll work, maybe people with these FMICs will chime in and tell me I'm off my rocker:rolleyes:.

i see what youre saying. i understand that the intercooler might not be as efficient as it should be if the inlet and outlet are on the same side, but come on, anything has got to be better than the stock piece! :D im more concerned about having to change too many things around to make it all fit and having the end tanks in a certain location obviously affects the pipe routing. The most important thing is the pipe routing. The less pipe, the better. Please, nobody say buy an MP FMIC, i dont have 1100+ EXTRA dollars sittin around :D