Oil Pan replacement fun and Engine Hoist connection points?

blownsc

So i hit a pretty massive lip/pot hole on the freeway after a big storm and bottomed out, cracking my oil pan and taking a nice chunk out of it as well. I'm going to pick one up from a local junk yard but I need someone knowledgeable to reassure me that an oil pan w/ low oil sensor from a 92 Thunderbird will fit on my 90 sc. I'm going to rent a engine hoist and drop the k-member, and i have my rtv and E-18 socket all ready. Just want to make sure i'm not going to get it 1/2 apart and realize that they are different parts.

-Almost forgot. I've never used and engine hoist before. Where are good attachment points on the engine w/o ripping it apart and what hardware should I use to attach it?

Thanks,
Kyle

Last edited:
they are the same all you have to do is drill out hole for the sensor i have used a n/a oil pan before .

and have both sitting here in front of me i always have extras lol if ya cant get one let me know i can let you have this one for shipping cost.

Some non-SC cars have the VMM too, so you may get one with the hole already drilled. Also, you shouldn't get under the car with the engine on a hoist only. A crossbar across the fenders or something is an important safety precaution.

well technically i don't know that it's not an sc oil pan, i'm just assuming it isn't. When selecting the part however, the one i'm looking at has the low oil sensor as opposed to the ones that they have that are from t-birds w/o the low oil sensor. Is that the hole you're talking about drilling? So since this one has the low oil sensor am I correct in assuming that I won't have to drill or is there another sensor that i'm not thinking of that this oil pan may not have a hole for. The description is "Oil Pan, 1992, Ford Thunderbird (3.8L), w/low oil sensr-"

Remove the upper left and right tensioners. Replace the bolts and reuse them in your hoist chain. Works good for the front anyhow.