Cam position sensor.....can you just turn it?

CurtisPaulfrey

A while back my CPS got installed 180 degrees out (points to drivers side)

Can I just undo the nut and washer and turn it the right way? I know the U needs to face to the front of the car but I didn't know if it had to be perfect....

I'm just getting started on it tomorrow, I hope I have enough room to move it I really don't want to have to pull the SC

no. you need to pull the teeth outa the gears and align it properly.. if you turn it the timing will still be way off.... you need to lift and re-stab it in the gear..... i think u need to have blower out of the way to do so

no. you need to pull the teeth outa the gears and align it properly.. if you turn it the timing will still be way off.... you need to lift and re-stab it in the gear..... i think u need to have blower out of the way to do so

That's not entirely true.

The housing for the sensor body will move without the shaft turning. Thus you could turn the housing without having to move the shaft, bolt up your sensor, and bob's your uncle, it's fixed.

The problem is, you likely wouldn't be able to tighten down the shaft assembly as the top part would block access to the pinch bolt. You wouldn't be able to mount the sensor, as the connector for the sensor would either hit something, or the wires would be too short, or the connector would interfere with belt routing.

So in essence, yes you need to remove the shaft and re-adjust it. The benefit of the above, is that you don't need to get the position of the cup exactly perfect when stabbing the shaft in. Get it close. Then final adjustment is done by moving the housing a bit to get things lined up perfect.