not a good morning - fuel pump??

PaxtonShelby

Hi all. My 90 SC auto died on the way to work this morning. It has 135k on it. Prior owner had tranny rebuilt, head gaskets replaced, water pump, ABS computer / master cylinder assembly replaced, and other small items - all within the last 18 months / 3000 miles.

I was 1/2 way on my 6 mile commute when there was a bucking / surge in the power, then she just died. This had happened a few times in the last month, each time under very VERY light throttle. ( The bucking / surging, that is, not the dying part. Today is the first time she shut off on me.)

This time she would turn over, but would not restart. When I turned the key to the first on position, I did not hear the fuel pump kick on like my Mustang GT used to do, so I'm thinking ( hoping ) that the fuel pump might have gone bad. I'm new to the SC world, so any help / suggestions you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Car is currently at my local garage where it will probably sit until Fri / Sat when he has time to work on it.

I checked the inertia switch in the trunk and it was still in the normal "ON" position, so that isn't the problem.

If you feel it is the fuel pump, should I upgrade the capacity of the pump or stay away from any particular brands of replacement pumps?

Thanks in advance for the help folks. I am eagerly awaiting your diagnosis!

Ron

Last edited: