Caught car on fire!!!!

esgtbird

Well

I have a 90 sc i have been working on for thi last 2 yrs. In the process I have put a fresh block with ported heads, ported blower, cam, headers, fmic, and a stand alone engine management.

I have work my heart out on this car once i heard this thing start up it was like having my first born. That happened 2 months ago!

Now to the present time i finally put the car all back togeather pulled it out of the garage to take it for a ride to putt putt around the house the air fuels where between 12.5 to 13.0 no more the engine temp never even went over 195 degrees but the thing was so hot it melted the glue in the hood to hold the vents in. THIS IS NOT GOOD! then i pop the hood to find th spark plug boot in the middle on the pass side was on fire. i forgot to mention i wraped the headers. This is not normal is it!

Now once i removed the plug boot from the spark plug it looked like it had been in a electric burn. It was real flakie and had a white look that when you touched it the boot would flake apart.

So this is the Question what could be the problem timing?
Does anyone have a idea on what my timing curve should be?

My mind is burnt out. I am not giving up YET!!! just looking for more input from some of the big guns.

I stoped by a local shop to see if he has any info or could give me a idea and all he told me was i did not build the motor call the person that did!!! NICE GUY RIGHT!!! but he has a point.

i attched a copy of my post with pics feel free to take a look as a reference.

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=94674
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=98356

Thanks for all your help
ESGTBIRD

Whoa! Sorry to hear about the troubles.

There are probably folks more qualified than I who will chime in... But it sounds to me like if the A/F ratio is good, then there is too little timing advance, which makes the exhaust very hot.

Too little advance = glowing hot headers