HELP! Where is engine harness and ecu??!! 90 SC

S

SCFoxbodyswap

Hello all. I'm new here and I'm sorry but I suck with computers. So, I am currently swapping my SC motor into my foxbody Mustang. T-bird was a blast but the body is falling off of it and the drivetrain needs refreshing ayways. It's a 1990 SC with a 5 Speed. I currently have it on my hoist with the entire subframe unbolted and separated from the chasis but.... There is that damn harness holding it in. How do I get at the ecu? Do I need to remove the dash? I'm sorry to say I am not a ford guy but I am a competent backyard mechanic. As far as my swap goes I'm just removing the entire harness and every wire from the bird and putting it back together in the mustang. I know a lot doesn't work from car to car but I can delete things as I go and want to start with the complete setup. My mustang was a 2.3 auto Convertible and since I bought both cars and drove both of them for under $1000 I'm just using what I have laying around. Please if anyone has tips on how to get that harness out it would be great. I really don't want to cut a factory harness if I don't have to! Will have more questions on motor build later on. Thanks

I'm not clear on which harness is giving you trouble.

The engine side of the main engine harness connects at the firewall, behind the pass. side wheelwell - might help to remove the wiper cowlings to make room. There is also a large round white bundle connector on the left side, again, behind the wheelwell.

Might be simpler to pull the harness from the engine - mark as best you can and take lots of photos.

SC ECU is behind the passenger side kick panel, inside that end of the dash. First remove the passengers side kick panel. Then remove the glove box. Using a 1O mm socket remove the one nut holding the ECU's wiring harness to the ECU. A white plastic bracket will be holding the ECU in place. Remove the one screw holding the ECU in place. Pull the ECU down and out.

Last edited: