Thread: Where to bring the SC in GTA?

Where to bring the SC in GTA?

i just bought this car from by brother and now im worried bought a money pit...i hoped to get a few summers out of it before a major repair...but the white smoke and burninig smell leads me to think that maybe coolant is leaking and the head gaskets are going to fail.

what should i do (i am not a mechanic)....any advice on who to take it to?

how much to change gaskets?

White smoke is "usually" head gaskets.. it can be coolant coming from other sources like a leaking intake gasket , but on a ford 3.8, its most likely the heads.
    Burning smell could be the cats plugging up .
    Don't know who you can take it to, but you are looking at 1500 for the complete job, a deal [ if its done properly ] would be a grand.. or .. you can do it yourself for a few hundred, if the heads do not need surfaced .
    Its an ignorant job at best.. but , you will save a crap load and learn something in the process..things like.. you don't want to be a mechanic ..
    You really should look at the car closely before diving in , make sure its not a rust bucket, unfortunately most of them are, check under the rockers behind the lower skirt , if its got holes..you are dumping good money into bad [ if you are paying someone to fix the problems ].
    Either way , good luck.
    Dave.

Quote Originally Posted by toronto_1990sc View Post
    i just bought this car from by brother and now im worried bought a money pit...i hoped to get a few summers out of it before a major repair...but the white smoke and burninig smell leads me to think that maybe coolant is leaking and the head gaskets are going to fail.

what should i do (i am not a mechanic)....any advice on who to take it to?

how much to change gaskets?

what he said...............................smoke - definitely head gaskets!

If your not a mechanic ... DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS!