Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Knock Sensor Replacement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    24

    Smile Knock Sensor Replacement

    I accidently broke my knock sensor while replacing motor mounts. Is there anything special i need to do while replacing the sensor? Thanks for all answers in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Atkinson, NH
    Posts
    4,216
    nope....just get the new one in there.....get a 1-1/8" deep socket to put it in again. You cant fit any wrench in there so you'll need that deep socket. I broke mine too last week when i was doing my mounts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Straffordville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    357
    When you remove it, does coolant come out or is the sensor not in a water jacket?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Posts
    117
    I lost quite a bit of coolant when i removed my sensor to install new motor mounts.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medina, OH (outside Cleveland)
    Posts
    2,998


    On the early models at least the sensor is screwed into an adapter that is then screwed into a water jacket. The later models are different.

    Also be sure and get the correct replacement sensor since the threads sizes are different on the early vs late. I cannot remember for certain, but I think the early style is a little harder to get.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Atkinson, NH
    Posts
    4,216
    i drained my coolant cause someone told me that all the fluid would come out...but nothin came out at all. Like gldii said......it has a housing that it screws into first.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Straffordville, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    357
    Thanks guys for your help...I'm having mounts put into my XR-7 today by a mechanic friend of mine. Now I know that I can easily remove the sensor only without losing coolant, then he can just bend the sheild out of the way and pull the mount out that way instead of pulling out the overflow bottle and moving the A/C compressor to separate the mount from the top side of the car.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Atkinson, NH
    Posts
    4,216
    i found the best way to get that side in....is to put it in in two pieces. Put the rubber on one half of the mount.....put that peice in....then the other side of the bracket....then once both pieces are in there....assemble it with the two small bolts. I tryed for so long to get that mount in there...and when i did it in two peices...it was a peice of cake.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    toms river NJ
    Posts
    298
    i was wondering if u have to torque it just right for it to run right dose anyone know?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Atkinson, NH
    Posts
    4,216
    just do it so its tight...it should have some thread glue already on the threads...so it wont fall out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    toms river NJ
    Posts
    298
    ok thanks for your help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •