Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst 123456789 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 166

Thread: Cobra brake 11.65" rotor upgrade kit.

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Madison, Ohio
    Posts
    17,635
    Picking up brackets from the coater's today. Coating this time around is clear/grey.

    Grinding of the calipers brackets and spindles is mandatory no matter who made the brackets due to the amount of offset required. If you have to clearance a bolt to clear the brake cable it may be something to do with thickness of your brake pads. I have not had that issue before but it is very close and the E-brake arm that the cable attaches to does move, so if you have a clearance issue the only thing I can say is you may have to clearance that bolt head some as you already determined.

    I may look into a lateral offset next time around, if it will clear the spindle that might be a solution too. In the mean time, you'll just have to clearance things.

    Hub rings are $18 shipped by themselves.
    Quote Originally Posted by Miller View Post
    Ya thats why i tape mine down. People think its bc i dont have a moonroof seal (which is true) but its really to keep my roof from ripping off .
    Email me here.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Michigan, Wayne county
    Posts
    232

    Bracket grinding

    This will be the first time I have installed these brackets. Please excuse the dumb question but where do you have to grind the brackets and spindle ? Thanks for the help.

    P.S. When do you think these brackets will ship ?

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    3,046
    David,

    I was wondering the same thing. Perhaps yourself or someone else could post some photos of where to grind on an actual spindle.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Forked River, NJ
    Posts
    2,092
    Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post
    I was wondering the same thing. Perhaps yourself or someone else could post some photos of where to grind on an actual spindle.
    The one on the left has been modified.

    There are also pics in my article on the subject.

    http://home.comcast.net/~dlfraleigh/Article.html
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta Canada
    Posts
    3,046
    Thanks Doug. I forgot you posted that.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Michigan, Wayne county
    Posts
    232
    Cool, looks easy enough. Thanks for the info.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Madison, Ohio
    Posts
    17,635
    Parts are in stock and will ship starting tomorrow for those who have paid. I will include a sheet with written instructions, but pictures are worth 1000 words as they say. There are a few more minor modifications needed to fit the calipers, as described in the kit.
    Quote Originally Posted by Miller View Post
    Ya thats why i tape mine down. People think its bc i dont have a moonroof seal (which is true) but its really to keep my roof from ripping off .
    Email me here.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dacono, CO
    Posts
    1,216
    If you have to clearance a bolt to clear the brake cable it may be something to do with thickness of your brake pads.
    BINGO! We are using EBC Yellow Stuff pads for this project, and you are correct, they are thicker than stock replacement pads due to their "brake in coating".

    My suggestion if you have this clearance problem is to leave the parking brake unhooked for about 500 miles or so until the pads "bed in", then reattach. The brake in coating on EBC's brake pads wears off rather quickly. It should give you the clearance you need as it was very, very close. I doubt stock replacement type pads will have this issue.

    Jeramie

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Dacono, CO
    Posts
    1,216
    Also, Quick question..

    Will this setup fit under stock SC wheels?

    Thanks,

    Jeramie

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wintersville, OH
    Posts
    4,100
    Yes you can use your factory REAR wheels with the cobra brakes
    Making woosh sounds since 2010!

  11. #71
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Michigan, Wayne county
    Posts
    232

    got em

    Just received my brackets today. Awesome pieces thank you.

  12. #72
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    5
    I was just wondering about the hubcentric rings...

    Are they only wide enough to make the rotor hubcentric, or are they wide enough to make the rotor and rim (mustang pattern wheel) hubcentric?

    Thanks!

    (Had sent Dave a PM, but his inbox is full)

  13. #73
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Madison, Ohio
    Posts
    17,635
    The hub ring is only for the rotor.
    Quote Originally Posted by Miller View Post
    Ya thats why i tape mine down. People think its bc i dont have a moonroof seal (which is true) but its really to keep my roof from ripping off .
    Email me here.

  14. #74
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Michie, TN
    Posts
    133

    Inbox

    Dave empty your PM's please

  15. #75
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lexington,sc
    Posts
    76

    brakets

    i have 13 inch brakes on front and cobra hubs on back and want cobra brakes on back....what do I need from you and how much shipped to 29073

Similar Threads

  1. Cobra rear brake calipers
    By XR7 Dave in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-29-2009, 12:14 AM
  2. FS: Rear cobra brake conversion brackets
    By Turbo351 in forum Super Coupe Club of Ontario
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2005, 01:07 PM
  3. Rear brake caliper park brake shaft seal?
    By phils89sc in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-21-2003, 10:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •