Engine rebuild advice?

stroker351

I have decided to pull my engine and do a rebuild. I'm a deisel tech by trade so another engine rebuild is no sweat. However, a couple of weeks back I ran across this cool little XR7 and couldn't pass it up. I didn't even know a supercharged Cougar even existed until then. Then, low and behold I come across SCCoA! what a great group of guys! The ultimate place for research and advice.

So lets say I get this little engine out and start taking it apart. What are the areas of concern that I may overlook? Any needed mods that need be done at the machine shop? Where is the best place to order parts? I'm not ready to start adding any major performance upgrades yet, but I want a good solid engine that I can add to later. I will be replacing my exhaust system now, no headers but everything from the manifolds back. Also I want to get rid of the big air cleaner box and do a cold air intake. I'll also add a fan to the stock aftercooler. Am I going to be ok with the stock fuel system with these minor upgrades? Who offers a complete, high quality rebuild kit? What are the best rings to run in this supercharged engine? What is involved to "freshen up" the supercharger? Would new stock replacement motor & tranny mounts be sufficient?

I'll have plenty more questions as this build goes along. Right now I'm gathering as much info as I can to try and get some ball park figures together. Looking forward to this project. Hopefully I can get the engine out and the parts to the machine shop before the weekend.

Personally I'd have the block machined to a 20 RA for MLS head gaskets. Also ARP head studs (believe 2.0 chevys are the best fit/deal).

Make sure the machinist knows #4 journal is supposed to be .010 undersized, in relation to the other journals.

Keep your eye out for some 94/95 SC Rods. They are better than the rods in your motor right now.