Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Distraction Project - Garage subpannel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    898

    Distraction Project - Garage subpannel

    The honey has been wanting to do some home renovation as of late, and before she starts knocking down walls, I needed to get a nice safe power supply in place for my garage.


    26 FT of THHN 6Gauge wire out to through the wall to the garage. 2-Black 1-White, and a 10Gauge green ground wire for the pannel


    I had to use about 30 zip ties to get the wires to forget they weren't on a spool anymore, and should lay straight.


    The old fuse pannel. I had to delete an ADT Alarm breaker, move the basement lights to it, pull off the garage plugs, shuffle some breakers, and open up a space for my two 110 phases.


    My new EATON subpannel in place, with the wires all connected


    The first line (Garage plugs) terminated and operational!


    Nice and happy

    Total cost: $180 (Wire, subpannel, food)
    Total time: 4:00

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Ottawa, Ohio
    Posts
    5,204
    You'll love the subpanel. I installed one when we built the house last summer, ran 100 amp capable service to the garage. Added a 60 amp breaker to the house Eaton panel, 2 gauge feed to the Square D garage panel. The wire was a killer at over a buck a foot.
    SCCoA Member#: 2515
    1990 SC AOD 2.1L Kenne Bell
    11.676 @ 121.35 mph

    My Garage

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    6,041
    I went overkill when I built my garage 5 years ago...200 amps in the house, 200 amps in the garage
    Kurt K (e-mail)
    SCCoA Member #: 443
    '92 SC AOD -- 11.521s @ 116.748mph, 2.0 AR power
    . . . . . . . . . -- 13.547s @ 101.01 mph, only w/ bolt-ons
    '95 SC 5spd -- All Stock, except 17" Simmons wheels.
    '90 SC 35th Anny 5spd -- 3rd owner, 16k miles
    2 '89 XR7 5spd's -- on their way out, really!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    2,873
    soooo you just ran THHN through a hole in the wall then sleeved it with no connector ?? TISK TISK

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR
    Posts
    96
    amazing that people do very stupid and possible deadly things, and have not a clue about either. please buy a book, talk to someone that knows, or call a professional.the list is to long to explain the probs w/ ur install.


    sorry to be so rude, but just plain stupid in my opinion!!

    ps i have some grounds to make this statement; 22 years as a licensed electrician, brian

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    898
    Quote Originally Posted by moovn2vegas View Post
    amazing that people do very stupid and possible deadly things, and have not a clue about either. please buy a book, talk to someone that knows, or call a professional.the list is to long to explain the probs w/ ur install.


    sorry to be so rude, but just plain stupid in my opinion!!

    ps i have some grounds to make this statement; 22 years as a licensed electrician, brian
    We actually pulled it back and put it through conduit from box to box after looking up code. The guy at the hardware store who told us we didn't need it was an idiot. Fittings on both end as well. Anything else you think we missed?
    Last edited by Silenced; 02-05-2012 at 02:21 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Albany, OR
    Posts
    96
    glad to hear!! again sorry to be so blunt make sure to put a nm cable conn on your garage ckt if you havnt already. it appears you have a 100a service. if time or money allows you might want to consider upgrading it to a 200a.again sorry if i was rude,dont even have an sc anymore. just bunch of nice people and info/stories on here,that i get on dailyto read. would hate to read that someone or their family was hurt or worse and i didnt say something.

    brian

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    898
    Hey, no hard feelings here. I was doing it wrong! You're right about the 100 amp main. Finances don't allow right now, so I'll have to be good and watch what I use

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    2,873
    I was surprised to see you knew to isolate the Neutral from the ground but ran the thhn like that.. cool deal with you doing the right thing and putting it in pipe. I only saw that done once, somebody ran 6g green wires down a wall onto a light switch. he screwed the switch to the sheet-rock with no box...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,470
    personally I would have put a main disconnect in that subpanel so I don't have to go inside and cut the breaker for the garage to cut power to the subpanel. I know it's only required for disconnected structures, but it's a nice add on even if the subpanel is in an attached structure.
    T-Bird How To tips - Latest, reattach glass to regulator sash clips
    90 SC AOD its time is nearly up
    93 SC 5spd -441hp/462tq *SOLD*

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Altoona IA
    Posts
    3,221
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike8675309 View Post
    personally I would have put a main disconnect in that subpanel
    Isn't that code?

    I installed a sub panel in my 1st garage and basement of 2nd house. I recently paid to have the sub panel installed in the basement of my 3rd house and they all have a main disconnect in the sub panel.

    The 2 sub panels I installed I had a certified electrician (friend) approve the work.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,470
    Quote Originally Posted by 90blkbrd View Post
    Isn't that code?

    I installed a sub panel in my 1st garage and basement of 2nd house. I recently paid to have the sub panel installed in the basement of my 3rd house and they all have a main disconnect in the sub panel.

    The 2 sub panels I installed I had a certified electrician (friend) approve the work.
    National electric code requires a panel disconnect for a sub panel when it is installed in a detached structure. i.e. a detached garage. An attached garage doesn't require such. As I said, I'd want one anyway especially with a subpanel in the garage since I might feel like re-wiring that any old time.
    T-Bird How To tips - Latest, reattach glass to regulator sash clips
    90 SC AOD its time is nearly up
    93 SC 5spd -441hp/462tq *SOLD*

Similar Threads

  1. The SCCoA Garage is OPEN!
    By Pat DiPersia in forum sccoa.com website
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 02-26-2014, 02:12 PM
  2. 2011 Makeover project (back in its own garage!)
    By neverfastenough in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 122
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 02:56 PM
  3. recent project in the garage
    By BRIAN WALTER in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 10:13 AM
  4. MN12 AWD Restoraton Project T-Shirt Design
    By 1HUMINBIRD in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 01-31-2008, 01:33 AM
  5. 95SC 2.2L supercharger project (pics included)
    By 93 Mark VIII in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 230
    Last Post: 12-19-2003, 09:06 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •