Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Won't Idle = why

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    109

    Won't Idle = why

    I took the engine out of a 90 RX7 and it ran grate so I instaled it in a 9o SC and now it will not idle. It acts like it is idleing so low that is dies. It seams to run ok when you bring the idle up to 1300 rpm or more. IT reves up good also. I tried to checking for vac leaks by spraying starting fluid at the lines and the intercooler tubes but I can not find any leaks. I also tried switching the computers between the two cars and still won't idle. I used every thing out of the RX7 so all the sencers should be ok seeing that it ran good in RX7. I went ahead and tried switching out the idle control valve and still won't idle.
    Where do I go from here Help please

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    san lorenzo
    Posts
    1,514

    cel

    do you have a check engine light on?

    how about the maf sensor if it's dirty can cause this too..

    have you tried to pull some codes?
    1989 t-bird sc auto
    1992 t-bird sc 5 speed
    1995 t-bird sc 5 speed


    all stock but getting together some parts so i can have more fun!....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hamilton NJ
    Posts
    1,967
    Gotta be a major vacuum leak somewhere!!! Sounds like
    same as mine was doing when my vacuum gauge was
    only reading 10-11 of vacuum!!!

    BTW....ITS an XR7
    Tom
    Tom Downs-member#2752
    MPX'd 90 SC Auto~bought Feb. 2012
    http://www.sccoa.com/forums/garage_v...vehicle&id=424

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Manchester, NH
    Posts
    2,064
    Quote Originally Posted by 89XR7TD View Post
    Gotta be a major vacuum leak somewhere!!! Sounds like
    same as mine was doing when my vacuum gauge was
    only reading 10-11 of vacuum!!!

    BTW....ITS an XR7
    Tom
    X2 to tha vacuum leak.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Percy, Il
    Posts
    118
    Ya I may also just because its easy, run around and ground some stuff out.. I had an s10 did this same crap to me all the time. I just put a chassis ground to the engine, dash, and harness and never had another problem w it.. I always plan on dealing with bugs like that when doing a swap.. Good luck! I hope you figure it out!

Similar Threads

  1. Seems like engine cuts out at idle, no CEL though, HELP!!!
    By phils89sc in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-24-2010, 08:49 AM
  2. Need serious help here, low vacuum, running rough.
    By spelch in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-19-2005, 05:05 AM
  3. Idle Re-learn Proceedure
    By discipled1 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-18-2005, 08:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •