Winter Project - Rear End Conversion

SCrazy

SCCoA Member
So after breaking yet another half shaft at the Shootout I am now convinced that I need to convert the IRS to solid axle. My problem is I have never done this before and have so many questions I'm not even sure where to begin.

What size tire to run? Currently running 28"x10" is there any need to think about 11" or 12" wide tires or is that simply too much tire. Can an 11" or 12" tire fit in the stock wheel well with the shock mount removed. Also most 11 or 12" tires are 29" tall not 28"

What size wheel to run. I'm thinking 15"x10" unless I go to 12" tire then I might need to go wider also going to run 5x4.5" bolt pattern. No clue on backspace, I guess I'll need to mock something up and do some measuring.

What size breaks will fit under a 15" wheel? Seems like 12.5" rotors is pretty standard but I can't really tell what size wheels they fit.

Axle housings...do I buy new made to order or get an Explorer rear end and modify it? Housing ends would need to be replaced with 9" ends for oversized bearings...but lot of measuring to figure out the overall width. 3" tube diameter seems to be pretty standards.

Axles......How many splines makes sense 28, 31, 33, 35 how the hell do I know. Gun drilled, lightened flanges, stud diameter, hardened, etc, etc.

Springs & Shocks.....absolutely no clue here

Ladder bars.....is the Jegs special ladder bar kit OK or should I be looking at something like Chris Alston stuff.

Which cross member to use....2"x3" box or tubular.

Heck these are just questions about components never mind setting up and installing all of this crap. Sure would be nice if there was a list of "this stuff works well together" to use as at least a baseline to start from.

My head hurts..................

Edit:

I am going to update this first post with the products I decide to go with and their associated costs.