Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3.8 supercharged timing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    calgary alberta
    Posts
    5

    3.8 supercharged timing

    so i had a bad oil leak coming from the front cover and i had to removed the timing sensor. but i never marked where is was. just wondering if somebody has a pic or could get me a pic of how the cam sensor should look at TDC or if somebody could talk me though how to set it. would be great if someone could help me car has stock cam. i miss my car please HELP!!!!!!
    Last edited by 89tbirdsc89; 07-05-2014 at 08:31 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    56
    Per fsm
    Rotate engine to 26degrees ATDC on cylinder #1 compression stroke
    Use the special tool to lock the synchronizer shaft to the body
    Stab the synchronizer in the timing cover
    Reinstall the clamp and tq to 20-29ftlbs
    Remove special tool
    Reinstall sensor

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    56
    Special tool can be bought at many local parts store for just a few dollars

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    calgary alberta
    Posts
    5
    im just trying to do it by eye i don't have the tool wish i did. and what do u mean by 26* atdc so is that a little bit past the timing mark cause i dont have that plastic cover around my balancer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    56
    The tool is really cheap buy it and do it right. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B000IH...&robot_redir=1
    If you eyeball it and are off even a degree itll make your car run like crap, its not something you should eyeball imo.

    I thought the dampener itself has a marking for 26atdc, I have aftermarket so I know it does, you shouldn't need the plastic cover to do this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    calgary alberta
    Posts
    5
    so i got it to 26* atdc and set the cam sensor the car idle good but every time i gave it throttle the car back fired really loud. and i made sure my plug wires were in the right spot but now the car wont run. so maybe i will have to look at that web site and order the tool from that website. thank you for all your help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,517
    Quote Originally Posted by 89tbirdsc89 View Post
    so i got it to 26* atdc and set the cam sensor the car idle good but every time i gave it throttle the car back fired really loud. and i made sure my plug wires were in the right spot but now the car wont run. so maybe i will have to look at that web site and order the tool from that website. thank you for all your help.
    26 degrees ATDC for the #1 cylinder?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    calgary alberta
    Posts
    5

    Post

    so i ordered that tool just gonna have to wait for it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,517
    You can verify if that is your problem by disconnecting the cam sensor completely. The car notices it isn't there so it tries to start without it. no more than 4 or 5 tries of "key on, try to start, key off" should be necessary to get it running. they drive it to see if you get the same behavior.

Similar Threads

  1. First time removing supercharger.
    By vaprobe87 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-07-2012, 11:30 AM
  2. 2nd time at the track (milan). 14.887@93.95 MPH.
    By 91BLOWNSC in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-18-2002, 02:11 AM
  3. How many times have we seen this pattern?
    By 89BlownBrd in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-17-2002, 12:46 AM
  4. Supercharger on Ebay.....check out the first bid!!!!
    By FearThis SC in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2002, 04:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •