Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Crankshaft position sensor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1

    Crankshaft position sensor

    I hope I haven't double posted but I seem to have messed up the first time so...
    My friend has an 89 SC that idles like it has a full race cam in it and misfires like a son-of-a-gun under throttle.
    He had the front main seal replaced a few years back and this is when the trouble started. They tried and failed to fix it.
    Apparently the mech had to heat the balancer bolt for a long time to get it to loosen. The mech called my friend after he finally picked it up to tell him about the heating process. The crank sensor looks unscathed so I think they removed it before heating. Is there anything behind the balancer that can cause poor running if damaged by heat or is there a tool they should have used to line up the crankshaft sensor. I also had the sensor off to check it so I would have installed it in the wrong position too if a special tool is needed.
    It's been sitting a couple of years since I worked on it so a fuel system flush will be needed too, but it's off the beaten path so I would like a few good ideas to go with.
    Thanks for any info, Wally

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    6,293
    Anyone connected a code reader?

    Does the tach drop and then recover?

    Does it take more than one stab to start?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,641
    Maybe he should double check the plug wires where they're attached at the coil pack. This is an extremely common mistake and it wouldn't surprise me 1 bit if some shop mechanic bungled it.

    Right:
    123,
    564

    Wrong:
    123,
    654
    Last edited by TbirdSCFan; 07-05-2017 at 08:19 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    381
    Good evening


    After checking for codes inspect the crank sensor air gap. Use search. Example: http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthre...osition-Sensor. The mechanic may have disturbed or worst case damaged the clearance when reinstalling the harmonic balancer.



    Good Luck.

Similar Threads

  1. Crankshaft position sensor cover
    By SC Spyder in forum Want to Buy
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 12:51 PM
  2. crankshaft position sensor?
    By romigh871 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 04:32 PM
  3. Crankshaft Position Sensor Install Problem
    By Scarter676 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2003, 12:58 AM
  4. Cam Position Sensor vs Crankshaft Position Sensor
    By BirdofPray in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 06:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •