Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: JBL premium sound - Contour cd player wiring help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22

    JBL premium sound - Contour cd player wiring help

    Hi

    I request help wiring a Ford Contour CD player into my 1991 SC with premium sound. I installed a Contour CD player and it lights up and looks great and tunes to the next station, but there is no sound.

    Mine had the tape player and no CD. I found the CD player at the JY from... I guess a 2000 Contour. I am not sure, but it was made in 1999 and looks like this:
    Top is the new one, bottom is the old one.




    back of same.




    Wiring, before I tried to move stuff around as suggested by 35th.




    Here is the 35th, which I tried by switching the big blue wire into the empty spot, and it still lights up and still no sound:



    I am thinking next check the wiring at the amp. Just to see if it is all plugged in. Then .... Then take this CD back and try to find another one. I don't know.

    Thank you for any insight.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Adrian, Michigan
    Posts
    1,355
    My 94 SC came with the JBL system and cassette tape player. I bought a head unit with a CD player like the one you have pictured and it was plug & play but your factory head unit looks completely different than mine.
    SCCoA Member # 490 since 1997
    1995 SC (five speed) 12.8913@105.86
    Best 60' 1.7489

    1994 SC (automatic) 13.4829@100.23mph
    Best 60' 1.8539 On a stock long block with bolt on's
    http://www.sccoa.com/forums/garage.p...ge_view&id=638

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    389
    Good afternoon


    I believe you will need a ford DIN jumper plug for the sound to work with you JBL head unit. Some audio repair shops have them. You might find them in your local salvage yard with JBL DIN head units in Lincolns. Be aware your ford radio/CD head unit is "iffy" at best See attachments.


    http://www.carstereohelp.com/ford.htm

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=...06710465637146


    Good Luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Southwest of Kansas City
    Posts
    2,272

    You need this

    You need this jumper connector before doing anything else.
    These radio's are iffy at best nowadays and no parts are available to repair them.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Jim, SCCoA Member#: 2789

    "cuz Jim has mad skillz, yo!" Melon.
    "You guys crack me up talking about nitrous when you don't even know if you can keep it together on gasoline." XR7 Dave
    "I didn't break it, I found it's weakness."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    Thank you.

    I have the jumper. It came with the cd player. I did not know I had it when I bought it. Great.

    I tested all of the voltages on the back of the radio at the power plug, pic below for your confusion.

    Name:  Screenshot.table.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  237.9 KB

    I moved the big blue cable from pin 1 to pin 2, so it is sending 12V to the Amp Power On (Logic Mute?), just like the old radio did. This 12V is making it to the amp connection in back.

    Any opinion of the reliability of the amp? Maybe the radio works and the amp does not?

    Is there an easy way to check the output of the radio? I get 4V at all the pins in the square grey wrapped connector with the radio on. This 4V signal is making it to the amp connector in back.

    I have an old stock tape deck. Maybe I will send that signal to the amp and see if it powers the speakers.
    I do not know what signal to send to which input at the amp. LH front amp signal return? why not just one common ground for all of em? huh.

    Maybe I will end up bypassing the amp, but I would like to stay stock-ish.

    Thank you for any input.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Salem, OR
    Posts
    6,340
    You may want to pick up an EVTM for your year SC...check eBay.

    And if it comes to it, note that scosche used to sell a jumper harness that bypasses the rear/sub amp - allows you to retain the stock speaker wiring between the dash connector and the speakers (minus the sub). I think the sub goes out more often than the amp.

    My stock JBL system didn't work when I got the car...someone had stuffed an incompatible Ford head unit in the dash and gave up from there I think. I replaced the head unit with a flip-out LCD Jensen w/GPS, handsfree BT, SD, USB, cameras, 5.1 etc.; replaced the CD player with an Alpine ctr. speaker; upgraded the door and back speakers; removed the stock sub & amp, and added a Fosgate amp w/dual 10" subs. The only stock item left is the speaker wiring and the power antenna.
    Last edited by KMT; 09-30-2017 at 06:40 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    Thanks KMT

    Sounds like you went through it with yours. I was hoping to plug and play, or nearly so. I don't want all those new fangled gadgets. I'm a grumpy old man.

    JBL is making me grumpier.

    I will probably go grab the amp out of the Contour and see if that will fit with the sub woofer and the rest of the crazy system.

    So many things to do.

    Thanks for telling me what I am probably in for.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    I wired up each radio to my guitar amp and they both work. Cool.

    Then I hooked up the radio to the stock amp to an old speaker. I get intermittent sound. It will play for a second or two and then cut out until I turn the radio off and back on.

    So looks like back to the junk yard I go. Again. I went back last time and could not find that contour. I probably just forgot where it was. I found a lincoln with a similar amp, but no sub woofer.

    Hey, anybody know where is the amp in a contour? or what other fords used the same amp with a sub woofer?

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    389
    Good morning

    Not sure about Ford related subwoofers but during my salvage yard runs I have found the approx JBL amp in the following:

    (1) 1989- 1995 Taurus SHO

    (2) 1988- 1992 Lincoln Continental

    (3) 1989- 1992 Lincoln Mark VII

    (4) 1989 - 1993 Lincoln Town Cars

    and of course the SVT Contour and Mystique LS option.

    I sure there are other models (Explorer Limited and Mustangs comes to mind) but in the salvage yards I have not see one.


    Here is an attachment with a JBL system swap in a Lincoln. http://www.grandmarq.net/vb/showthre...(In-Progress)&



    Good Luck.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    Thank you for the link to that thread. A lot of good (and probably some bad) information there. I need to check all the speakers, grounds, and power supply lines next. UGH.

    The JY charges $40 for an amp.
    the eBay charges $50 for a NOS amp.

    It hurts to pay anyone $50 for anything. So

    I took my amp apart. I found a burned "thing"

    The interwebs say this thing is an n channel MOSFET. Here is a guy changing n channel MOSFETS in an amplifier.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGVBy_VVY28

    Ordered 4 MOSFETs for $3.00. We shall see.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bossier City, LA
    Posts
    2,156
    Quote Originally Posted by BeerGarage View Post
    Thank you for the link to that thread. A lot of good (and probably some bad) information there. I need to check all the speakers, grounds, and power supply lines next. UGH.

    The JY charges $40 for an amp.
    the eBay charges $50 for a NOS amp.

    It hurts to pay anyone $50 for anything. So

    I took my amp apart. I found a burned "thing"

    The interwebs say this thing is an n channel MOSFET. Here is a guy changing n channel MOSFETS in an amplifier.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGVBy_VVY28

    Ordered 4 MOSFETs for $3.00. We shall see.
    You DID buy the same part number MOSFET, right?

    And how about a pic, but this time, leave the link to the pic, a link to the pic ... that way those of use who know electronics can see if it is a MOSFET or not.

    RwP

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    Thank you for offering to take a look for me. I did make that sound like I had no idea.
    With no doubt it is an IRFZ40, 50Volts / 50Amps N-Channel MOSFET.

    I linked that video because it is funny if you watch to the END.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    I soldered in that MOSFET. The amp worked! For about a minute, then cut out, now nothing.

    So shoot.

    Anyone have a working amp they want to sell?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    22
    Just want to update that got a NOS amp and everything works now. Happy to have tunes. Thank you for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. '94 JBL Premium Sound System with 10 Disc CD Changer
    By nickleman60 in forum Parts for Sale
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 08:03 AM
  2. JBL Stereo - Radio/Tape/Cd player RELIABILITY
    By sail7seas in forum Polls Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2003, 09:51 PM
  3. CD Player installation help
    By 1990_NW_SCKid in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2003, 12:30 PM
  4. JBL PREMIUM SOUND WOES(Good & Bad)
    By wwotr in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2003, 05:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •