Cobra Brakes for the rear of a Super coupe any interest?

Richard Oben

If I am out of line here, let me know. First post here but have lurked before. If I need support the site let me know.

I am a builder for Factory Five Racing. We use the super coupe rear ends (modified) for the IRS Factory Five cars. Any way, several people expressed and interest in putting Cobra Mustang rear brakes on the SC rear ends. So having done this type of stuff before, we make live axle brackets for the FX Mustangs for putting disc brakes on FX rear end. So, we decided to do a conversion bracket for the IRS.

What you will need is a Cobra rotor (11.65 inch diameter 94 up) redrilled to 5 to 4.25 for your wheels. Or replace the hub with the 99 Cobra hub, if you want 5 on 4.5 wheels. The Cobra hub will fit in the SC spindle/brearing and use the SC axle. Along with the Cobra Rotor a Cobra caliper will need to be used. The SC brake lines will fit with a little bending. I am not sure about the SC upper control arm clearance. We use the FFR arms and SC bolts without trouble. I don't think the arms would cause a problem. There is some grinding involved. The caliper has casting boss on the bottom that needs to be removed. Other than that it is pretty much a bolt on.

The part pics should be on my website in a day or two. If you want instructions, parts lists and pics email me and I will send them to you. My email is in the profile or direct from the website below.

Now for the most important part, price. The brackets, hardware and shipping are $150. The hardware is very specific and must be included. For this price we do not include anything else, like the rotor or caliper. Those parts are available from most parts houses and also from several on line sources. Calipers cost about 75 bucks each I think, and rotors about 60 bucks each.

Again if I offend anyone or am out of line let me know. I just thought there may be some interest for this part on this site.

Cheers Richard.