Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: AC Freon Capacity?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150

    AC Freon Capacity?

    Hello,
    I've searched the forums, and google but there was not any info on this ?.
    I believe the 90 Cougar XR7 was factory R12 at so many ozs.
    I believe the Cougar should be 38 ozs. of 134a, If incorrect let me know.
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    470
    Good evening

    Below is an old thread addressing R-12 capacity.

    http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthre...ms-All-Engines

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150
    Thanks Sam, but I'm using 134a.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    470
    Good morning



    Maybe this thread is better?


    http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthre...C-rebuild-tips

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150
    Nice thread.
    I read the whole thread and did not find where the compacity for 134a is!
    I'm not saying it's not there, I'm saying I did not see it.
    By the way I am blind in my right eye.
    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    470
    Good afternoon




    http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthre...C-rebuild-tips


    Refer to post #1 step 6.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    5,753
    32oz is the recommended amount. You won't really be able to push more than that in anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150
    Thanks TbirdSCFan!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    463

    Ac rebuild

    6. Recharge the system: Do not add more than 90 % of the original R 12 charge.
    The Thunderbird SC AC system takes 40 ounces +/_ 2 ounces of R12 Freon.
    90% = 36 ounces= 2lb of Freon.
    Autozone and O'reilly, both have their own brand of freon 12 O.Z. cans. For a brand new system it is as good as the expensive other brand.
    Unfortunately, even with the manifold valve closed, every time you swap a can you will be opening the line letting a little bit of air in it. Once you are sure that your system is leak free (holds the vacuum), you may ask your local shop to vacuum your system again ( 45 minutes) with their pump (better CFM rating) and do this step for you. I did it myself and it still worked out though.


    I wrote this a long time ago. Let me know if it is no clear. May be I can try to reword it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150
    Thanks Falcon20x!
    Very good information!
    I take it that 36 oz is for 134a?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    463
    Yes. The conversion is to 134a

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    150
    Good to know!
    I use 4 x 12oz cans of 134a freon.
    The reason I use 4 is, I bleed the line real good after changing cans.
    Most of the time you never get all of the freon put of the can.
    The 4th can is not empty and its about half full.
    I watch the gauges high pressure side and low pressure side they will tell when it is full.
    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. replacing AC freon; properly....
    By SuperCoupe007 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-21-2005, 01:41 PM
  2. anyone need freon for old AC systems?
    By Scott-Atah in forum Super Coupe Club of Western Canada
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-26-2002, 12:58 PM
  3. AC blower fan
    By smithmy in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2002, 08:56 PM
  4. I need a AC coil
    By bbitner in forum Non Technical Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2002, 09:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •