AOD Tranny Experts??!!

duanemyhre

Is there anyone on the board who can diagnose and understands AOD transmissions?

My poor SC is having one problem after another lately!

I have read all the boards and the stuff from TCCOA. I need to talk to a real expert! Not like most of those idiots that work at the tranny shops.

Problems include (on rebuilt tranny with 5,000miles)
-cold shifts @ 5000 rpm (getting somewhat normal after warming up)

-after driving, sticks in gear while stopped and bogs down engine.

-sometimes after stopping, engine lugging like above, I try to accelerate and the car shutters like it is in second or third gear. I hit the gas hard, and it shifts hard down (and rubber is put to the ground without intention)

Im sure something needs to be replaced, but I need to know what. I want to know, so I can do it my-self, or specify to a shop what I want done.

Im by NO means an expert, but I personally think its a pretty safe bet that you have something like metal filings making your valve body stick. If your brave enough to pull the valve body, its not a hard thing to get to. I know theres guys on here who have done it and could give you a step by step.
Pull your tranny pan and see what the fluid looks like. If its metallic looking in the sunlight, Id bet that metal is causing those valves to stick. The symptoms such as it shifting better when its warm, and that it wont go back into low when you stop, and that you have to ramrod it to get it to shift up at the light are good indicators to me that that is it. Good luck!

thunderstruck

THANKS!

I think a saw a write up about somthing like that on TCCOA. Somthing about using new plastic ones?? Im not sure?!

Do you know where I can get a pic or diagram of the tranny and these parts, so I can do it my-self. Even part numbers would help.

Anything. I want to make this fix this week. I dont want to burn up this tranny!

Duane

sounds ok