Worst night at the track EVER...

lessonintorque

Soooo Embarassed. I put several thousands of dollars and soo much time in my SC and I cant hook up off the line!!! I ran a 16.3 (not gonna mention the worst run of the night and those that were there shouldnt either:confused: ) Im so confused. I have a brand new engine, a port and polish, a 3 angle valve job, kooks headers, flowmaster force II, spec stage 3 clutch, solid motor mounts, whole engine gasket matched, and a fake carbon fiber shift nob!!! so whats my problem? Ive never seen times so bad. Everything in the engine bay is brand new! I just spun my tires as onequicksc, and Flip and Mike can verify, I spun my tires past the 60ft mark almost every time.:eek: :eek: :confused: I think that Im gonna need counseling after this ordeal man Im sooo pi$$ed! sorry I had to vent,...didnt help im still pi$$ed.

It can be fustrating at the track, I am just learning my self. I have been to the track 2 times in the last month and those are my first runs.
I would have your car dynoed and tuned if possible, you will be able to increase your HP dramatically there.
Get drag slicks!! Do not go to the track with out them and then practice.
My 60 foot times have dropped from 2.2 2.3 range the first time to 1.85- 1.95 my second trip(thanks to my buddy Dave) and this is with a 5 speed. At this point my 1/4 times are not important, but learning to drive right is.

Gary

i know how you feel man. dont forget that the heat plays a big part in it. we will have to go next week and that way you can laugh at me when my 13 sec sc runs no where near that. what were your 60's and mph? i know my car needs to be tuned so bad a couple months ago i ran a low 14 with a 2.0 short at 87 mph??!!? i used to run 94 mph before my new motor and cam and fuel setup. so who knows with these cars. they are soo hard to get where they should be. maybe we can find a good place and have our cars dynoed tuned. sounds like we might both need it. brian