Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 27 of 27

Thread: check out my homemade cold air intake...

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Cuba
    Posts
    174
    Originally posted by supercharged95
    Not too shabby for 6 bucks but it's not a cold air intake, it's a hot air intake. It's not a cai until you mount it in your fenderwell or find a way for it to suck up cold air.
    Maybe we should vent off of the A/C and get some REAL cold air.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,744
    Originally posted by MN12 KID
    I'd hate to break it to ya, but the clamps on the MAF and TB are useless on the exhaust...err intake pipe...err tube.
    I also did not notice this. There are several ways I can think to fix this, realizing that I can not see pipe diameters very well.

    One, either find short sections of rubber/plastic hose with sufficient diameter to clamp to air filter/maf/tube & throttlebody/tube so that the clamp will allow a tight fit, or check the stock hose to see if it can be cut to fit.

    Another possibility, try just replacing that metal tube with your stock air hose, or another rubber hose altogether.

    In any case from what I can tell your problem lies in the fact that you are trying to tighten the clamp around metal. Instead you want to tighten the clamp around a pliable material (such as rubber hose) and insert the metal tube into it.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    South Central Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,538
    well i see most of u guys have ur heads in ur a$$...
    if u guys would of asked... i would of told u that the intake tube and the MAF sensor are connected with a Rubber Connecter. Its about 1 inch wide.. thats why u see both HOSE CLAMPS around it... The thing doesnt loosen up. I checked for that. As for the FILTER being in the MAF yes you are correct... I have fixed that already.

    any other stuff you guys wanna try to throw at me?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Somerset, Mass.
    Posts
    632
    Well, first one should remove their own cranium from the rectal orifice and wipe off their eyes before a post like that.
    We were poking fun at you - can you take a joke?

    I cannot see from the picture you posted that your intake has any rubber couplings on the metal piping. It's not immediately obvious in your picture.


    Aaron

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    730
    Originally posted by darkstar_one
    well i see most of u guys have ur heads in ur a$$...
    if u guys would of asked... i would of told u that the intake tube and the MAF sensor are connected with a Rubber Connecter. Its about 1 inch wide.. thats why u see both HOSE CLAMPS around it... The thing doesnt loosen up. I checked for that. As for the FILTER being in the MAF yes you are correct... I have fixed that already.

    any other stuff you guys wanna try to throw at me?
    hahahaha, given your history of posts/threads here I think you should retract that statement, if you were even being serious in the first place.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    41
    No offence, but I think he'd get better overall results, from the stock air tube.

    Thats what i wanted to know, why would you do such a thing to your intake, hp gains... ?

    With the airflow changed like that does the car miss or buck under hard boost...?

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    LONDON ONT. KANaDa
    Posts
    891

    6 bucks an hour

    cheap ...here's a freebee mod ...cut this line and cap both ends and gain a pound or 2 of boost .....dave

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    471
    It's been dyno proven, to lose HP on stock SCs.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Overland Park, KS
    Posts
    4,054
    DarkStar_One,

    Why are you being such an asz? These guys were only trying to help you. And yes, I'm sure that you would see more power with the stock setup then that one.

    Thomas

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    South Central Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,538
    nombre mano..

    u guys cant sarcasm...

    dont tripp i was just messing around with u guys... if i get mad its just for sarcasm... you guys dont have to get postal on me either... just trying to play along.. damn u guys..
    thanx for the support anyways....

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    471
    Originally posted by darkstar_one
    well i see most of u guys have ur heads in ur a$$...
    if u guys would of asked... i would of told u that the intake tube and the MAF sensor are connected with a Rubber Connecter. Its about 1 inch wide.. thats why u see both HOSE CLAMPS around it... The thing doesnt loosen up. I checked for that. As for the FILTER being in the MAF yes you are correct... I have fixed that already.

    any other stuff you guys wanna try to throw at me?
    No comment...
    Last edited by MN12 KID; 10-08-2003 at 12:23 AM.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    41
    You still haven't answered the question... WHY ?

    WHY would you go though all this, risking messing up your intake spending money on something that was working fine, and what really cost $ 6 bucks... The piece of stove pipe... the filter alone was $ 12 the MAF was how much ? And the clamps ?

    This left you sitting on the highway once already... do you want to walk home again ?

    Just seems useless to me ?

    But hey rock on with your bad self

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •