hey guys, Story (kinda long, bear with me) and advice needed....

sc steve

Ok SC guru’s, I found a very nice ‘89sc for sale for 2 grand. I guess I should start at the beginning though. On Saturday me and a buddy of mine took a ride up to a pawn shop/car audio shop so he could return his CD player (he buys all his stereo stuff from this place). I thought while I was out there I would see what I could get for my old subs and box. So anyway, my buddy told me that the shop owner might be interested in my car because I was looking to sell it soon. When we pulled in I saw a beautiful red 89 sc 5sp sitting in the parking lot. So we went in the shop and he returned his CD player and I sold my box and subs to the guy. Then I started shooting the **** with the owner of the shop and he asked what I was asking for my car so I told him that I was asking around 3 grand and he tells me “my buddy was selling his for 2 grand…. If you want to go take a look at it, it is sitting in the parking lot.” My jaw dropped, I guess you would have to see it to believe it. So I went outside and looked over the usual things, there was absolutely 100% NO RUST (which is hard to find in NY), the paint was immaculate it looked better than my old 97 t-bird did (there were a few very minor swirls and that kind of blemishes but that is about it). So the owner came over and I started talking to him, he told me that the water pump is new as well as the front brakes. The mufflers were rotting and he cut them and put 2 god awful 4” ricer tips where the tips used to be. He said that the rest of the exhaust would have to get done as well. So he started it up and it didn’t make a single chatter or rattle, the thing sounded like it had a brand new motor in it. So he told me that he was looking to get 2 grand for it because he didn’t like working on the motor and he didn’t really know too much about supercoupes. Sorry for the long story, but I don’t drive a 5sp very often and wanted to know how to tell if the c