Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Speedometers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Posts
    117

    Speedometers

    I'm sure this has been asked before but i can't check this forum as often as i like. Is the later style speedometer (140 MPH) a direct bolt in for the earlier style (120 MPH)? If not, what would be required to make it fit and work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medina, OH (outside Cleveland)
    Posts
    2,998
    The 94-95 SC speedo (Ford part # F4SZ-17255-C) is a direct bolt in for the early models. I have one in my '89. Can't remember the exact price, but definately over the $100 mark.

    Some people have used the 160 MPH SHO speedo, but I believe it requires some mods and the green lighting does not exactly match.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    953
    I believe the 140 speedo is around 215USD or so at Ford.

    Try this link here:

    Car-Parts.com.............national wide auto savage search!

    Cheers,
    Calvin
    Last edited by FearThis SC; 07-26-2002 at 06:27 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    530
    Originally posted by gldiii
    The 94-95 SC speedo (Ford part # F4SZ-17255-C) is a direct bolt in for the early models. I have one in my '89. Can't remember the exact price, but definately over the $100 mark.

    Hi there.. I am just curious... when you say direct Bolt in... are there any gears that need to be changed.. or can I take the old speedo out.. and plug this 140mph in and still have the correct reading... at any speed

    Karl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Canton (Atlanta area) GA
    Posts
    1,090

    Lightbulb

    Plug and Go

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    504
    just hung up with ford cause i want one too, 213.00 for the 140 mph speedo.
    joe

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medina, OH (outside Cleveland)
    Posts
    2,998
    No need to change gears as both the 120 and the 140 use the same gear (for the ring and pinion in use). The 140 justs reads higher on the scale!

    This is truly a bolt in swap!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •