torn...

100mhz

here my deal...

im a young driver, and i currently own a Toyota MR2. this is my first car. Its got a mid engine rear drive setup for those that dont know. So far i've owned it about a year. Have put about 3,000 miles on it. I love this car but it need some work, which is to be expected from something with 170k miles. I am definatly a car person and im training to be a mechanic. My problem comes into play where when i was first looking at buying cars, i saw a red SC and loved it. but the guy wanted alot for it, and the interior was worn with a few rips and stuff. so i got the mr2, drove it arround for a while and then the tranny went. I knew when i bought it the maintanence was not up to date seeing the 12,000mi past due oil reminder. So now were to the point of i've been driving the car, it needs some things like brakes, shocks, etc. Well i stumbled upon a 1990 SC. its black on black, with the leather and everything. I like the car and noticed it was sitting for a while. I finally get a hold of the owner and he says that he was going to trade it for a race motor, but money now and he'll sell it to me. The problem is hes asking what im selling my car for but his needs body work. they hit somthing just above the passenger head lamp, and it buckled the hood, busted the light, and the passenger 1/4 panel is a little messed up. i know body work is real expencive. so what im asking for is peoples opinions on what they would do given the situation. The MR2 is just as rare if not more rare than the sc. if i sell it my odds of buying annother one are slim to none. I went for a short ride in the sc, and from the 10 minutes i was in it i liked it. But, what kind of MPG do they get on premium? i'm getting 25 on regular. and stuff like how expencive are they to keep up? everything on the toyota is fairly cheap, and a tune up is beyond easy. i've heard its a nightmare to do plugs on an sc and that the whole supercharger assembly has to come off.This is a difficu