Turbo and supercharger

Kurt13R

I just read a lot of forums discussing the use of a turbo along with the supercharger. I'm by no means an expert on this topic but don't you think it would be possible to have a turbo feed the m90. Have the exhaust from the engine feed the turbo and have the turbo feed the supercharger? Anyone have any comments about this matter. Thanks

Kurt

It has been done here in Australia. It was a 304 chev motor with twin turbo's feeding a B&M blower for memory. I will try to find the artical in one of the magazines. Made some good power. This was in a local built car from the 70's, a Holden Torana.

Last edited:
Yes, like mentioned abve somoe guy had a turbo and SC on one car after a certain RPM or Boost level i cant remember wich the sc was dirverted and the turbo was used:confused:

Dave why do you say it's not very practical?

Because you can already make more power than you can drive on the street with either a supercharger or a turbocharger...you don't need both. But it could be done. I would use a rear mount turbo and feed the supercharger in it's existing configuration.

David

I don't know if I'd like to use a rear mount for the turbo. It'll loose a significant amount of heat that way. The more pressure and heat from the exhaust in the turbo will make the turbines spin faster. I'd like to mount it somewhere under the hood.

I know that a turbo kit is in the works for the supercharged cobalt ss. For that twin forced induction principal. Volkswagen also has a twin charged (turbo&sc) setup for the new rabbit. Its a european only option offering a 1.6 4 banger twin charged.