Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Oil pressure switch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL.
    Posts
    171

    Oil pressure switch

    I'm going to run a new wire to the oil switch just wondering whats the best way to connect the wire to the oil switch instead of using the old connector? I want it to stay tight and have good contact not like the stock connector.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Eastern (nee Western) PA
    Posts
    4,993
    If the top of the switch is threaded as I recall, how about putting two nuts on it and sandwiching a ring connector inbetween?
    God bless!!!

    Former Birds:
    1990 SC auto ... red outside, gray cloth inside ... ~225,000 miles ... Sold.
    1990 SC auto ... white outside, gray cloth inside ... ~150,000 miles ... wrecked.
    1989 Base auto ... Crystal Blue metallic outside, dark blue inside ... ~160,000 miles ... Sold.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,517
    That's what I did. I believe a standard machine screw nut fit on there. It was either 10-32 or 8-32 I believe.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL.
    Posts
    171
    Ok I did this with 2 nuts 1 lock washer and a round connector. I removed the 20 ohm resistor on the wire just like the " How To " article said to do and now my oil pressure gauge is pinned all the way up passed the " H " (high) and won't come down. Did I miss something or did something wrong? Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brantford, ON
    Posts
    5,383
    did you replace the sensor with the sensor that article said to use?

    Using a stock sensor will give you a max reading like that cause its only full off or full on if you remove/bypass that resistor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL.
    Posts
    171
    Actually, I did use a new stock sensor. What is the difference and can I get it at like an Auto Zone or places like that?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Lakeville, MN
    Posts
    13,517
    Difference is the stock sensor simply reads I have pressure, I have no pressure. Thus just off and on.

    You need a full range sender. See item #13 in this article.
    http://www.sccoa.com/articles/oilgauge.php

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL.
    Posts
    171
    Whats a Bezel?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    3,468
    The clear plastic piece that covers the Gage Cluster is usually what folks call the "bezel".
    22 year SC Owner GFP
    (Glutton for Punishment)
    1992 5 Speed SC one of 1256
    1995 5 Speed SC one of 574

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL.
    Posts
    171
    Thanks for the advice guys, it works great. Just a couple Questions, do I have the 20 ohm resistor behind my cluster, and do I remove it? I had the resister on the wire before the oil switch and I removed it. Also does anyone know the Oil psi. in connection to the letters on oil gauge with this set up? Thanks again.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brantford, ON
    Posts
    5,383
    Generally if the resistor was in the wire it wouldn't be in the gauge cluster. If it is in the cluster, all I did was take a piece of wire and soldered it on the connections the resistor used and left the resistor there so you can go back to stock if you wanted easily. I did because I installed an after market.

    As for readings, your best to get a real oil pressure gauge installed to give you psi then look at what the stocker gives you. Anyways, for me hot idle gave me around the N which is around 25psi at 600rpm's and cruise gave me a reading around M which is around 65psi at 1500rpm's... according to my aftermarket gauge, and thats with Mobile 1 10W30. Thats in my car, but results do vary from car to car.

    Its is HIGHLY recommended to install an aftermarket to be sure.

Similar Threads

  1. Passive Restraint
    By Pearl Red XR7 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 06:36 PM
  2. oil pressure problem
    By zbird1 in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 02:42 AM
  3. ARC pressure switch
    By Jogi in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-26-2006, 09:59 AM
  4. Two issues - oil pressure and timing
    By leeklimala in forum Technical Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-14-2004, 03:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •